Share Contents

Department of History
Bahauddin Zakariya University, Multan, Pakistan

Established: 1976 
Contact Email: 

12  Department of History

The Department of History was established in 1976, a year after the establishment of the university. Initially, the Department started functioning in a rented building in Gulgasht Colony, Multan. In 1980, it was shifted to Languages Block (IOL) and finally in 1986 to its present premises, the History and Political Science Block in the university campus. Department of History started a diploma program in Pakistan Studies which was later on upgraded to a regular M.A. Pakistan Studies program in 1986. The program of M.Phil in History has also been started from spring 1997 while Ph.D program was also initiated from its beginning and the department enrolled Ph.D students. A number of scholars have been registered for Ph.D degree. So far, eight scholars have been registered for Ph.D degrees from this department and many other scholars are working on their Ph.D projects. Regular course work for Ph.D is also going on.

The department came into existence with a staff of three regular lecturers, one research scholar and one part time teacher. At present, the Department has the services of six regular teachers including three Ph.Ds., one M.Phil degree holder and two Master degree holder.