Share Contents

Scholarships Cell

scholarships Scholarships Cell

Higher Education Commission, Islamabad, in 2005 started financial assistance to the needy students of Bahauddin Zakariya University, Multan under programs “HEC Japanese Need Based Scholarships in basic and social sciences” and “HEC Maritorious Need Based Scholarships in medical and biomedical sciences”. In order to deal with these programs, Students Financial Aid Office (SFAO) was established in 2006 at the 2nd floor of central library of Bahauddin Zakariya University, Multan. Under direction of the worthy Vice Chancellor “BZU Financial Support Program” was launched in the academic session 2007 – 2008 and 117 scholarships were awarded to the needy students of various Departments of BZU. This office also coordinated with Pakistan Bait-ul-Maal, Punjab, for the financial assistance and 906 scholarships were awarded to the needy students of various departments of Bahauddin Zakariya University, Multan during the academic year 2007-2008. The Student Financial Aid Office got the status of Scholarship Cell in 2008 and is dealing with all types of merit scholarships as well as financial support programs in the University.

Scholarships/Financial Assistance are available to the students under following programs:

  • Internal Merit Scholarships
  • HEC-Maritorious Need Based Scholarships
  • HEC-Japanese Need Based Scholarships
  • Pakistan Bait-ul-Maal Financial Assistance Program
  • BZU Financial Assistance Program
  • NBP Loan Scheme
  • Begum Syeda Mubarak Scholarships
  • Sardar Korey Khan Scholarships

The University awards scholarships on the basis of the academic merit of the students. Scholarships are also available to the students on competitive basis from the Government of the Punjab, the Government of Pakistan and Private Trusts and Agencies. Interest-free loans are also made available by the Pakistan Government and the Banking Council. Some of the major awards and scholarships are as under.

a. University Merit Awards
On the basis of the results of the B.A./B.Sc. examination, the University offers three merit awards for the first three positions among the successful candidates in the B.A. and B.Sc. examination.

b. Education Department Scholarships
The students of this University can apply for merit scholarships offered by the Government of the Punjab through the various Directorates of Education. The candidates have to apply on a form prescribed by the Directorate of Education and the application has to be submitted through the Chairman of the Teaching Department concerned to the Directorate of Education of the Division.

c. Pakistan Atomic Energy Commission Scholarships
The Pakistan Atomic Energy Commission offers one scholarship each in the subjects of Physics and Chemistry to a student who has obtained first division in all the public examinations upto the B.Sc. level. 

The University grants a prescribed number of fee concessions to each Department. The Chairman, at his discretion, may grant the full fee concession or a number thereof to half fee concessions. Each full fee concession is equivalent to two half fee concessions. Loan for Needy Students The needy students of the University can avail themselves of the scheme of the Government of Pakistan for obtaining interest-free loans from the funds of the Banking Council which are especially instituted for the purpose.